Breadcrumb

April 24, 2019

Experts on huanglongbing/citrus greening

Author: UCR News
April 24, 2019

 

For fast access to experts, TEXT or call the 24-hour-experts hotline at 951-312-3049, or email news@ucr.edu 

Huanglongbing/citrus greening

 

Jim Adaskaveg: Professor of plant pathology. Disease of tree crops grown in California; biology; epidemiology; ecology of plant pathogenic fungi; mycology; ultra-structure of host-pathogen relationships; biology of wood decay fungi; biological and molecular techniques for the detection and identification of pathogens. jim.adaskaveg@ucr.edu

Hailing Jin: Professor & Cy Mouradick Endowed Chair in the Department of Microbiology and Plant Pathology; director of the Genetics, Genomics and Bioinformatics Graduate Program. Stopping the spread of HLB; generating HLB-resistant/tolerant citruses by boosting citrus immune systems; killing and inhibiting the bacterium that causes HLB. hailingj@ucr.edu

Tracy Kahn: Curator of UCR’s Citrus Variety Collection. Research evaluating the commercial potential of new citrus varieties; the citrus industry. tracy.kahn@ucr.edu

Wenbo Ma: Professor of plant pathology. HLB at the molecular level; understanding how HLB occurs; molecular markers that can be used for HLB detection. wenboma@ucr.edu

Peggy Mauk: Director of Agricultural Operations, College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences. Abiotic or biotic stresses to subtropical fruit crops, such as avocado, citrus, dates and mangos. peggy.mauk@ucr.edu

Philippe Rolshausen: Cooperative Extension specialist. Citrus microbiome and citrus undercover production systems (CUPS). Growing citrus trees under a sealed protective screen to exclude the insects that transmit the bacteria causing citrus huanglongbing. philrols@ucr.edu

Mikeal Roose: Professor of genetics. Developing citrus varieties with resistance or tolerance to the disease. Identifying the genes responsible for resistance. mikeal.roose@ucr.edu

Caroline Roper: Assistant professor and assistant plant pathologist. The citrus microbiome plays in tree health; discovering natural microbial products that can be used as antimicrobials to combat HLB. carolyn.roper@ucr.edu

Georgios Vidalakis: Professor & UC Extension specialist in plant pathology; director of the Citrus Clonal Protection Program. Preventing the spread of HLB and other exotic citrus diseases in California. Disease-resistant citrus. georgios.vidalakis@ucr.edu.
 

Search