Breadcrumb

April 24, 2019

Experts on issues in higher education

Author: UCR News
April 24, 2019

 

For fast access to experts, TEXT or call the 24-hour-experts hotline at 951-312-3049, or email news@ucr.edu 

Issues in higher education

 

Kim Wilcox: Chancellor. Advocates for a university system that acknowledges the importance of raising students’ socioeconomic status; will speak to the disproportionate attention paid to the nation’s private, elite universities; legacy admissions; college access; free college tuition; and the U.S. News rankings. kim.wilcox@ucr.edu. 

Steven Brint: Distinguished professor of sociology and public policyOrganizational sociologist of higher education; author of “Two Cheers for Higher Education,” which tracks the evolution of higher education in the U.S. between 1980 and 2015. steven.brint@ucr.edu

Eddie Comeaux: Associate professor of education. College student experience; college athletes; underrepresented students; how students’ experiences influence their outcomes; racial equity issues; student engagement; intercollegiate athletics; cultural competence; leadership in student affairs. eddie.comeaux@ucr.edu

Raquel Rall: Assistant professor of education. Leadership, governance, and administration of higher education; equity; executive leadership and boards of trustees at universities; college preparation and access; the academic experiences and success of students of color. raquel.rall@ucr.edu

Margaret Nash: Professor of education. History of education in the U.S.; relationships between education and citizenship, and education and identity; land-grant universities; drag on college campuses; purges of gay students and faculty from campuses in the 1940s. margaret.nash@ucr.edu

Kelechi A. Kalu: Vice provost of International Affairs and professor of political science. International students; university globalization; international collaborative research programs; expanding student exchange opportunities. kelechi.kalu@ucr.edu 

Uma Jayakumar: Associate professor of education. Racial justice and policy issues in higher education; how institutional environments shape college access and outcomes; how students experience and resist barriers to inclusive engagement. Co-developed amicus briefs summarizing key research findings related to the use of race-conscious admissions practices for the two Fisher v. University of Texas cases. uma.jayakumar@ucr.edu

 

Search