A sign with the names of Black people killed by police
January 5, 2021

Experts on Black Lives Matter

UC Riverside experts can discuss the Black Lives Matter movement and violence against Black people, including alleged police brutality

Author: UCR News
January 5, 2021

Ayana Omilade Flewellen: assistant professor of anthropology. Flewellen’s research involves Black Feminist Theory, processes of identity formations, and representations of slavery. She is currently writing a book entitled "A Black Feminist Archaeology of Adornment," which explores the sartorial self-making practices of African American tenants, sharecroppers, and landowning farmers in post-emancipation Texas. ayana.flewellen@ucr.edu 

Michelle C. Burroughs: director of community engagement and outreach for the Center for Healthy Communities. Burroughs is involved with the CHC’s engagement with the community focusing on the Black Lives Matter movement as well as social inequities. She is also a member of Chancellor Kim A. Wilcox’s Campus Safety Taskforce and the School of Medicine Diversity Committee. michelle.burroughs@medsch.ucr.edu

Cesunica Ivey: assistant professor of chemical and environmental engineering. Ivey’s research involves environmental justice and inequality as it pertains to air quality. In her research within the Inland Empire, she links air quality disparities that affect poorer communities of color to unjust historical land-use decisions, among other factors, that discriminate against people of color. cesunica@ucr.edu

Yolanda Moses: professor of anthropology. Moses’s research focuses on diversity and change in universities in the U.S., India, Europe, and South Africa. She is the author of the 2012 second edition of “How Real is Race: A Sourcebook on Race, Culture and Biology,”  and the 2019 book, “Race: are we so Different?” and is published on race and terminology, the violence of white nationalism, and racism and the long-term implications of Trumpism and Donald Trump. yolanda.moses@ucr.edu

Augustine Kposowa: professor of sociology. Kposowa studies racial inequality in the United States and how it affects public health. Currently, he is researching police abuse of Black/African American people, the long history, courses, and why solutions are difficult. kposowa@ucr.edu

For fast access to experts, email news@ucr.edu or text 951-534-8912

Media Contacts