My Off-Canvas

Breadcrumb

gears
February 13, 2019

UCR offers media diverse voices on diverse topics

Author: UCR News
February 13, 2019

TOPICS

 

CLIMATE CHANGE, AIR QUALITY, GREEN ENERGY, SUSTAINABILITY

Tam

Kawai Tam: Lecturer with security of employment, chemical and environmental engineering. Undergraduate education; mentoring undergraduate research; greenhouse gases, sustainability. ktam@engr.ucr.edu


Sasser

Jade Sasser: Assistant professor, gender and sexuality studies. Climate change, feminist political ecology, feminist science studies, population, environmental activism, reproductive justice, and global health. Author, “On Infertile Ground: Population Control and Women’s Rights in the Era of Climate Change.” jades@ucr.edu


Hopkins

Francesca Hopkins: Assistant professor, environmental sciences. Greenhouse gas, carbon dioxide, methane. Has been quoted in the N.Y. Times, Washington Post, KPCC (NPR affiliate). fhopkins@ucr.edu


Ivey

Cesunica (“Sunny”) Ivey: Assistant professor, chemical and environmental engineering. Sources of fine particulate matter, regional air quality modeling for health applications, global atmospheric modeling. cesunica@engr.ucr.edu


Ozkan

Mihri Ozkan: Professor, electrical and computer engineering. Green energy technologies and sustainable systems; industrial scale advanced energy storage devices such as batteries and supercapacitors for zero emission vehicles. mihri@ece.ucr.edu


Haberer

Elaine Haberer: Associate professor, electrical and computer engineering. New nanoscale materials to address challenges in the area of solar power generation, photocatalysis, and gas sensing. haberer@ece.ucr.edu


Morales

Fortino Morales: UCR sustainability officer. He is a UCR alumnus and became UCR’s first R’Garden (community garden) manager. In 2016 he was recognized in the inaugural UC Global Food Initiative 30 Under 30 Awards. fortino.morales@ucr.edu


 
NATURAL DISASTERS

Ghosh

Abhijit Ghosh: Associate professor, geophysics. Physics of earthquakes; records and analyzes seismograms; techniques to detect, locate, and track earthquakes. aghosh@ucr.edu


Barsanti

Kelley Barsanti: Assistant professor, chemical and environmental engineering. Modelling of atmospheric particulate matter, especially from biomass burning; how smoke forms and spreads from wildfires; air quality. kbarsanti@engr.ucr.edu


Minnich

Rich Minnich: Professor, earth sciences. Fire ecology of Southern California, Baja California, and temperate Mexico; influence of exotic plant invasions and climate change on wildfires; problems associated with fire suppression; impact of dry weather and drought on wildfires; contribution of air pollution to wildfires; solutions to addressing wildfires; California wildflowers. richard.minnich@ucr.edu


 
HEALTH

Nahas

Samar Nahas: Assistant clinical professor, health sciences. Cancers of the female reproductive system, including ovarian cancer, endometrial cancer, cervical cancer, vaginal cancer, and vulvar cancer; minimally invasive surgery, or MIS. samar.nahas@medsch.ucr.edu


Cooper

Takesha J. Cooper: Assistant clinical professor, psychiatry. Child and adolescent psychiatry; pediatric mental health; mood and anxiety disorders; bipolar disorder; cognitive behavioral therapy. takesha.cooper@medsch.ucr.edu 


Al-Khoury

Lama Al-Khoury: Associate clinical professor, neurosciences. Stroke risks and treatment; headaches and their pathology. lama.al-khoury@medsch.ucr.edu


Aguilar

Guillermo Aguilar: Chair and professor, mechanical engineering. The brain and laser-related brain therapy. gaguilar@engr.ucr.edu


Ford

Byron Ford: Professor, biomedical sciences. Stroke treatments; therapeutic implications for traumatic brain injury, nerve agent toxicity, and cerebral malaria. byron.ford@medsch.ucr.edu 


Nair

Meera Nair: Assistant professor, biomedical sciences. Immune mechanisms of underlying lung and intestinal infection and inflammation. meera.nair@medsch.ucr.edu 


Eskandari

Mona Eskandari: Assistant professor, mechanical engineering. Modeling lung mechanics to better understand how lungs behave in health and disease. eskandar@ucr.edu


Tiwari-Woodruff

Seema Tiwari-Woodruff: Associate professor, biomedical sciences. Multiple sclerosis, including treatment. seema.tiwari-woodruff@medsch.ucr.edu


Morrison-Banks

Elizabeth Morrison-Banks: Clinical professor of neurology. Multiple sclerosis, including treatment; mistreatment of people with advanced MS or other disabling neurological conditions; telemedicine. elizabeth.morrison-banks@medsch.ucr.edu


Rodgers

Victor Rodgers: Professor, bioengineering. New drug delivery therapies for spinal cord and brain injuries and stroke. vrodgers@engr.ucr.edu


 

PHYSICS

Canalizo

Gabriela Canalizo: Professor, astrophysics. Astronomical discoveries; black holes; quasars; galaxy collisions; active galaxy nuclei; star formation; stellar populations; galaxy evolution. gabyc@ucr.edu


Mobasher

Bahram Mobasher: Professor, physics and observational astronomy. Dark matter and dark energy; formation and evolution of galaxies; star formation activity; expansion of the universe; search for and discovery of the most distant galaxies; Hubble Space Telescope. mobasher@ucr.edu 


Tanedo

Flip Tanedo: Assistant professor, physics.  Dark matter, science communication; equity in physics; has appeared on NOVA Wonders and a Facebook Live episode hosted by Space.com. flip.tanedo@ucr.edu 


 

LGBT, GENDER AND SEXUALITY

Ward

Jane Ward: Professor, gender and sexuality studies. Feminist, queer, and heterosexuality studies; queer parenting; gay pride festivals; gay marriage campaigns; transgender relationships; social construction of heterosexuality; evolution of HIV/AIDS organizations. jane.ward@ucr.edu


Wilcox

Melissa Wilcox: Professor, religious studies. Intersection of LGBTQ communities and individual, informal, and organized religion; new religious movements and their connections to gender and sexuality; development of religious individualism. melissa.wilcox@ucr.edu 


Doyle

Jennifer Doyle: Professor, English. Paranoia and harassment in the workplace. Curator of “The Tip of Her Tongue,” a feminist performance art series presented by The Broad Museum in Los Angeles. jennifer.doyle@ucr.edu 


 

MIDDLE EAST AND MUSLIMS

Lalami

Laila Lalami: Professor, creative writing. Perceptions and realities of Muslim life; rise of extremism; changing roles of women in Islam. Columnist for The Nation, and author of American Book Award winner “The Moor’s Account.” laila.lalami@ucr.edu 


Ali

Muhamad Ali: Associate professor, religious studies. Islamic studies and religious studies; jihad; violence and peace; interfaith dialogue and global education; Muslims’ perceptions of Judaism and Jews; Islamic liberal movements; Southeast Asian history. muhamad.ali@ucr.edu 


 

IMMIGRATION

Ayon

Cecilia Ayon: Associate professor, public policy. Economic, social, and health effects of discrimination; how hostile policy climates contribute to higher stress levels among immigrant communities, particularly ones living in Arizona. cecilia.ayon@ucr.edu 


Morey

Brittany Morey: Postdoctoral scholar, public policy. How immigration policies and anti-immigrant sentiments affect health and health inequalities for immigrant groups living in the U.S. brittany.morey@ucr.edu


Garcia

San Juanita Garcia: Assistant professor, sociology. Race, class and gender; immigration and intersectionality; medical sociology and social determinants of health, particularly as they pertain to Mexican-origin women. juanita.garcia@ucr.edu


Gonzales

Alfonso Gonzales: Associate professor, ethnic studies. Latino and Latin American politics; migration control; human rights; migrant social movements and the politics of race in the United States, Mexico, and Central America. alfonso.gonzales@ucr.edu


Pedraza

Francisco Pedraza: Assistant professor, public policy and political science. Political attitude formation and political behavior among racial and ethnic minorities in the United States; relationships between immigration policy and health policy. fpedraza@ucr.edu


Felix

Adrián Félix: Assistant professor, ethnic studies. Politics of migration; diaspora; transnationalism; race and citizenship, especially as they pertain to Mexican migrants. adrian.felix@ucr.edu


 

GUN VIOLENCE

Kposowa

Augustine Kposowa: Professor, sociology. Gun availability and gun storage practices, and their connections to rates of suicide and other forms of violent death. augustine.kposowa@ucr.edu


 

TERRORISM

Merolla

Jennifer Merolla: Professor, political science. How terrorist threats impact public opinion and female candidates; how the political environment shapes individual attitudes and behavior; immigration and foreign policy attitudes. jennifer.merolla@ucr.edu 


Carreras

Miguel Carreras: Assistant professor, political science. How terrorism and threats to national security affect public perception and approval ratings of female presidents, and how the political environment shapes attitudes and political behavior. miguel.carreras@ucr.edu 


 

INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS/ INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

Kalu

Kelechi Kalu: Vice provost, International Affairs; professor, political science. International student enrollment; travel bans; international politics; Africa and U.S.-Africa relations. vpia@ucr.edu 


Shirzadegan

Magid Shirzadegan: Director, international students and scholars. Advising, teaching, and working with international students; coordinating orientations and handling financial aid, tax and immigration matters for international students. magid.shirzadegan@ucr.edu 


 

MEDIA AND CULTURE

Rodriguez

Richard T. Rodríguez: Associate professor, media and cultural studies, English. Latina/o literary and cultural studies; film and visual culture; queer studies. richard.rodriguez@ucr.edu 


Burrill

Derek Burrill: Associate professor, media and cultural studies. Digital games, media and gender; published 2008 book "Die Tryin’: Videogames, Masculinity, Culture.” derek.burrill@ucr.edu 


Przybylski

Liz Przybylski: Assistant professor, music. Indigenous hip hop practices in Canada and the United States; ethnomusicology; musicology; gender studies; indigenous studies. liz.przybylski@ucr.edu 


Jennings

John Jennings: Professor, media and cultural studies. Identity politics and popular media, particularly black representation; Afrofuturism; hip-hop culture; science fiction; superheroes; comic books; graphic novels. johnj@ucr.edu


Hopkinson

Nalo Hopkinson: Professor, creative writing. Science fiction; speculative fiction; fantasy; magical realism; Afrofuturism, black diasporic religions; Caribbean history and folklore; Afro-Caribbean culture; intersectional feminism. naloh@ucr.edu


Johnson

Imani Kai Johnson: Assistant professor, dance. African diaspora, global popular culture; hip hop; ritual practice of cyphering — collaborative and competitive dance circles. imani.johnson@ucr.edu 


Shigematsu

Setsu Shigematsu: Professor, media and cultural studies. Asian/ Japanese studies and culture; created the "Guardian Princesses" book series. setsu.shigematsu@ucr.edu


Krieger

Stuart "Stu" Krieger: Professor, theatre, film, and digital production. Screenwriting; has co-written the Emmy award winning mini-series A Year in the Life and wrote the animated classic “The Land Before Time.” skrieger@ucr.edu 


Cardoso

Patricia Cardoso: Theatre, film, and digital production. Screenwriting; film directing and producing. Film director, writer, and producer best known for directing “Real Women Have Curves” (2002), member of Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. patricia.cardoso@ucr.edu


 

Tags
Search